Stage 1:  Shire of Menzies - 92nd Menzies Classic - Chas Egan Memorial Race

The 2021 Shire of Menzies -  Menzies Classic – Chas Egan Memorial Race will start in Kalgoorlie-Boulder and head north along the Goldfields Highway, through the eucalypt woodlands to Menzies, undulating over 132km. Four sprint sections await the opportunistic rider to try and grab some cash on the way. The race finishes in the main street of Menzies, opposite the Menzies Town Hall.

The race, being a handicap event, means all riders are placed behind the first rider over the line, regardless of which grade they ride in. Hence riders from all grades have the opportunity to win Line Honours.

Prior to 2011, only once before – for the Menzies Centennial in 1994 – did the race go in this direction. The current record holder for this direction following the 2013 event is Alex Smyth from the Satalyst Giant Racing Team, in the time of 2 hours 32 minutes.

Line Honours for the 2019 Menzies Classic - Chas Egan Memorial Race was won by Brett Stapleton in a time of 2 hours, 48 minutes and 22 seconds. The first female rider home was Sofia Erhard in a time of 3 hours 10 minutes 47 seconds.  

Click here for Shire of Menzies - Menzies Classic Information Sheet